Mom’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

My life has settled into a routine of sleeping in, lazing around, maybe applying for a few jobs, watching TV, and doing some reading (mostly amazing food blogs these days, like this one). For some reason, finding motivation to get into the kitchen is a lot easier than, say, finding motivation to think about writing the novel I keep thinking I should write. Hence, all the food posts lately.

Everyone’s mom or grandma or great-grandma made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. They are delicious and easy. I’m not sure where my mom’s recipe came from. Making them always reminds me of home: not the new home that my parents have been in for the past 5 years, but the old house. I remember leaning over the counter to scoop a fingerful of cookie dough before my mother could slap my hand out of the way. I remember eating them right out of the oven, because that’s the way I liked them best: hot, so hot the molten chocolate chips would burn my tongue.

I’m not sure where my mom’s recipe came from. I copied it at some point in my second or third year of university, but I can’t remember what recipe book it came from. Mom?

In case you can’t read that:

Mom’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbs milk
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup chocolate chips

(If your butter is solid, cold) Melt or (if your butter is soft) cream butter and sugars together.

Add the egg, vanilla and milk. Mix until smooth.

Add flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Mix until smooth.

Add rolled oats and chocolate chips.

Drop the cookie dough on a well-greased cookie sheet. By well-greased, I mean well-greased. I did not use enough margarine and ended up having to pry my poor cookies off the baking sheet.

Bake at 350* for 10-12 minutes. Pull these, golden, delicious, chewy, crunchy bit of childhood from the stove.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Mom’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Rivikah

    Food That Really Schmecks isn’t it?

    • I thought so, but when I looked at my version, the recipe was a whole chart so you can get the texture (crunchy, chewy, etc.) you wanted. I know the version I copied was a straightforward recipe.

  2. Mom

    Joy of Cooking–but I’m not sure it’s in the newer versions. Called Quick Oatmeal or Wheat Flake Cookies.

    If you make them with lard you get a different texture, almost a crispy outer layer while still chewy inside.

    Be careful with these cookies, they’re so easy to make and to eat, they eventually show up on your butt!

    I started making them less frequently when I realized I was eating half of them myself!

Leave a Reply

