J(2), November 20, 2010

On Saturday, my beautiful best friend was drop-dead gorgeous.

I can’t really write a proper recap because their wedding story is not my wedding story. So, I’m not even going to bother. I will, however, share a few of the words I said to J(2) on Saturday night at the reception.

I have known you for 22 years and we’ve been friends for almost as many. Very few people can say they have had such a friendship. It has grown with us as we have changed. We used to play Barbies, or dress up in the clothes from your tickle trunk and giggled until our faces hurt. We felt like sisters. A number of times our lives have taken very different directions and a number of times, that bond formed when we were giggling girls was threatened by distance, by changing values, by new people in our lives.

But somehow, something always led us back. With you, I never feel awkward, even when we haven’t seen each other for months. We can always pick up right where we left off, interested in each other’s lives, there to provide a shoulder to cry on, memories to laugh about, a friend to share with. You are one of the first phone calls I make when something big happens: You have been one of the first to know about break ups, job offers, my engagement, our new apartment. You have been excited with me when my life went through a lot of change. And now, I am so happy to be excited with you.

I don’t have much experience on you: 6 months married does not make me an expert in any way, so I’m not going to give you any advice. But this is what I hope and pray for your marriage: I pray you love each other in every way you can. I pray you will hold dear the traditions your families have passed down to you, but at the same time discover what marriage means for yourselves. Most of all, I pray you will build your lives up around each other and around God allowing him to strengthen your relationship through unconditional love.

J, even though you have a new shoulder to lean on, know that I will always be here for you, always ready to give advice if I can give it, always ready to create some new memories. I love you both and I am so happy that you have chosen to dedicate yourselves so completely to each other.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “J(2), November 20, 2010

  1. Pingback: Lost Cameras and Symbolism | Something More

Leave a Reply

