Portion Controlled Coffee Cake

I don’t bake enough. I’m a bit of a reluctant baker. When I cook, I use splashes and glugs, the occasional soup spoon, the occasional measuring cup. But I don’t like the rigidity of exact measurements. I like to be able to choose my ingredients based on what is in my fridge as opposed to what a specific recipe requires.

My relationship with baking is probably an OK thing for my diet. But I see the cakes and cookies other bloggers make and drool. So, I have decided it’s time to do some more baking.

This recipe is from the Company’s Coming Muffin book. The descriptions in those books are hilarious, but Jean Pare happens to be right — Good.

Coffee Cake Muffins

1.5 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla

Crumble

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
1 tsp cinnamon

Mix flour, baking powder, and salt.

In another bowl, cream together softened butter and sugar. Add the egg. Beat well. Add milk and vanilla.

Create a ‘well’ in the centre of the the dry mixture. Pour the wet into the dry and stir until just moistened.

Grease a 12 cup muffin tin. Drop muffin batter into muffin cups until the cup is approximately a third full.

Mix together the three ingredients for the crumble mix. Sprinkle it on top of the muffin butter. Drop the rest of the batter on top of the crumble mix.

Bake the muffins at 400*F for 20 to 25 minutes or until the muffins are a light golden brown.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Portion Controlled Coffee Cake

  1. Mom

    If you don’t like measuring things, try baking bread. It’s very forgiving; you judge things by “feel” more than anything else.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Shortbread | Something More

Leave a Reply

