Sweet and Sour Meatballs

There’s a snow storm coming. I wish I had more food in the house to prepare for it, just in case we get apartment-bound. We won’t starve or anything, but I feel like a snow day would be an excellent day to try out a new kind of soup or the honey and milk bread a friend shared with me this week.

Winters are different in the city. I grew up in the middle of the snowbelt, so from November to mid-March, I woke up every day listening carefully to the radio and hoping for a snow day. We would have 10 or so every year and at least once a year, we’d have a run of snowy days, drifts filling up our driveway half an hour after my dad blew it out. Here, snow storms just… don’t happen. It’s already February and I miss the blizzards.

These meatballs have nothing to do with snow storms. But they do have something to do with the warmth of my mother’s cooking. They’re very similar to the meatballs she would make in a crock pot to take to a potluck. Every bite reminded me of that crock pot, a solid, brown, flowered thing from the 80s.

I did not make this in a crock pot. These are not quite as good as my mom’s, probably just because they weren’t made by my mom.

This recipe came from another church cookbook. See? I’ve been giving my aversion to church cookbooks a good kick in butt considering I’ve now made two recipes from two different church cookbooks from two different parts of the country and have discovered nothing but delight in the recipes. This church cookbook landed in my lap during a gift giving game last Christmas and is cringingly called ‘Cooking to Serve, Serving As Cooks’. There are half a dozen recipes for chicken casserole and cheese whiz shows up as an ingredient a little too often, but this recipe almost redeems all of that.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs
AdaptedĀ From Cooking to Serve, Serving As Cooks and submitted by on Rebecca Joncas of Leamington

1lb ground beef
1/2 cup finely chopped onions
1 egg
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/8 tsp pepper

Sauce:
1 cup barbeque sauce
1/2 cup vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 cup brown sugar

Mix all the meatball ingredients together with your hands. Trust me. It won’t get mixed enough if you try to use a spoon and you need to get your hands dirty for the next step anyway. A little raw meat won’t hurt you.

Roll small fistfuls of meat into balls. Brown the balls on all sides. Transfer to a casserole dish.

Meanwhile, combine the sauce ingredients in a bowl. Pour the sauce over the meatballs and cook in a 325* for 30 minutes. Serve over rice and hot veggies.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Sweet and Sour Meatballs

  1. Mom

    I’ve found the easiest way to brown meatballs is to put them on a cookie sheet and bake them for 20 minutes or so. If they don’t need to be browned, I’d just boil them–fast and easy.

  2. Rivikah

    Funny…
    I don’t remember our mother ever making meatballs…
    Weren’t the meatballs at potlucks usually brought by someone else?

  3. Mom

    You’re both right. I rarely made meatballs when everyone was home. The whole thing of needing to use defrosted hamburger would defeat me every time. However, later, especially when the church started having more potlucks, meatballs became more common. I have cheated and used store bought ones, but the homemade are so much better.

Leave a Reply

