A farmer in seminary

D putting on sunscreen before canoeing the Saugeen.

D putting on sunscreen before canoeing the Saugeen.

My father has always been my greatest spiritual role model. He taught me to think for myself, to consider possibilities beyond the most commonly accepted, to explore and to learn about God, his creation, and myself with a critical mind in order to discover the truth amid all the fluff and prejudice that organized religion can be*.

This past week, my dad received an acceptance to seminary. So, he’s starting a blog to document the new experience and the new phase in his life.

It’s kind of fun watching my parents go through their mid-life crises together. My mom has bought a not-yet profitable business and is working her way towards a certificate in kinesiology. And now my dad will be attending a class twice or three times a week and will someday hopefully graduate with a Masters in Theology.

I can only hope I’ll be as young as they are now when I turn 50.

* But, I will note, does not have to be.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

