Week 3: Killer Hills

I’m on week 3 of waking up in the morning to go for a run. It’s working well. I haven’t lost motivation yet which is always the biggest struggle. I don’t push myself too hard. I’m not training for that half-marathon anymore (though meeting someone who is kind of makes me feel like a failure…), so I don’t feel like I need to go farther and longer. I just need the exercise.

So, I’m purely focusing on becoming a better runner.

This morning, I woke up late. 6:45 instead of the 6:30 I would prefer. I was dreaming about finding a dalmatian puppy, tracking down the owners and being told they didn’t need him anymore so I could go ahead and keep him. I wish. By the time I got up, I didn’t feel like I had a lot of time.

There’s a monstrous hill less than half a kilometer away from my house. The hill itself is at least two soccer fields long. And steep enough that, while you’re running up it, you wonder if you will ever actually see the top.

I did it three times. Kill myself going up. Cool down going down. Kill myself even more going up. You get the picture. It didn’t take me long to get my heart rate up. And there was no way I was going to force myself to the top four times.

Three weeks is easy. But can I do four?

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise

Leave a Reply

