Week 5, Day 4

3.3km

20.5 minutes

Approximate average pace, 6.2 min/km

Approximately 20 minutes of upper body and core strength training

(Question: Should I allow the running to take care of the toning and strengthening of my lower body or should I do extra strength training for that too?)

I woke up not feeling like a longer run this morning. So, ‘speed’ work it is. Considering my usual pace is closer to 6.5 min/km, I think I did Ok. It was a nice, strong run the whole way. It’s a loop I did a few times at the beginning of the morning running thing, a loop that would have taken me a solid 25 minutes. I’m getting better!

The dinner the guys made last night of delicious steak and chicken tournedos did nothing for the numbers on the scale though. I wonder how much weight I’m going to lose* when they all go off to their respective co-op placements and stop making delicious food every night.

* Losing weight is not why I’m doing this. I don’t need to lose weight. But, you know… I’m affected by societal pressures just like everyone else. It would be nice to get rid of the three pounds I’ve put on since high school.

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise

2 responses to “Week 5, Day 4

  1. mom

    I think you’re doing enough lower body strength stuff. Try not to neglect stretching the bottom half though, tight hips can bring a running program to a quick end. Don’t have to stretch at the end of every run (regardless of what the “experts” say), twice a week for ten minutes or so will work quite well. I like yoga stretches.

    PS. I’d like to get rid of the 20 pounds I’ve put on since I got married. Or even just a few of them. : )

    • That was my instinct. Perhaps if I decide to run a half next year (there’s one in Waterloo in April I’m considering), I’ll add some lower body strength training to help building endurance and speed. But for now, I’ll just focus on keeping a balance.

      I need to stretch more. Though, I haven’t been feeling any negative affects so far. But, I have been reading running blogs of people with injuries. I think I want to avoid that at all costs!

Leave a Reply

