Classes

Classes are the reason I’ve been MIA for the past few weeks. When I’m off doing new things, and trying not to fall behind in the first week, blogging tends to fall a little to the wayside. Likely, this will continue for the next eight months.

Anyway, here are my classes!

Music theory: This will maybe be my hardest course. I haven’t done music theory since high school. After the first class, I talked to the prof about whether or not I could actually be successful and she said yes, but it would be hard. I’m OK with hard. So far, there hasn’t been anything that’s totally new for me. That will probably change pretty quickly.

Seventeenth Century Lit: The prof for this class is the cutest little woman who kind of giggles when she talks. It makes for a rather pleasant hour and a half. Other than that, it’s just a standard English course with plenty of Donne to read.

American Lit, 1945-present: We’re starting in the Thatcher years. I love it when a prof demonstrates all the societal forces that created a piece of literature, even a whole genre. We covered history all last week, and to see it in play in the literature that we’re reading from that period is fascinating. I know, I’m a geek. Whatever.

Religion in Popular Film: The prof for this course is arrogant enough to think that, since I missed the first class, I probably going to have a tough time catching up. I told someone this and they wondered if he was knew and still thought everything he said was incredibly important, that his spirit hadn’t been crushed yet by the Man and the multiple students that go through his classes. Anyway, he’s arrogant enough that it’s cringe-worthy. But his TA is great and the class is mostly just watching movies and writing analyses of them. I think I’ll be OK.

Christian Hymnody: In the first class we sang. OK, so we sing in theory class too. But that’s just ‘do’ ‘re’ ‘mi’ etc. This was hymns! In harmony! Oh, it was delightful. This whole class is going to be delightful. There’s no other word for it.

I’m trying to keep this term and next term as easy as possible. Is that a cop out? My boyfriend is in another city and when he comes here or I go there, I want to actually be able to visit him. I don’t want to be doing school work all the time. Some of the time is OK, of course. I won’t be able to avoid that.

Coming soon: U2!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Classes

  1. Ooooh! I think I would love Hymnology too!

    Ask the seminary student if he wouldn’t mind sharing his paper on Calvin and Hobbes when he is finished writing it. I would love to know how he uses the comics in it. I’ve often read them over the kids’ shoulders wondering at Watterson’s theology.

  2. Okay, just so you know, it wasn’t Murray that commented but me. Apparently he’s stealing my identity so he can comment elsewhere. I guess I better start checking the boxes.

Leave a Reply

