More burnout

The last time I wrote anything serious was Christmas time. I may have written some heartsick love poetry at the beginning of the winter last year, but I’ve never held any delusions about my poetry being particularly good.

Perhaps I am too lazy to be a writer. Or perhaps I need to change my definition and reorganize my goals.

I’ve written enough blog posts in the past 6 years to fill more volumes than anyone wants to read. Because of my desire to spill my guts all over the internet, I’ve never really stopped writing. Further, I’ve read blogs that have a quality of writing that is superior to a lot of stuff that’s in print. No matter what Prof. Arrogance says, I believe there is literary merit in the blogsphere.

Of course, nothing that can be cashed in on, really. But there’s very little money in print nowadays anyway.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “More burnout

  1. Ryan Fox

    I don’t know much about the literature-for-literature’s-sake kind of blogging, but I do know that many technical bloggers have compiled their best blog posts[1][2] (or even tweets![3]) into dead-tree books.

    [1] http://www.joelonsoftware.com/BuytheBooks.html
    [2] http://www.paulgraham.com/hackpaint.html
    [3] http://booktwo.org/notebook/vanity-press-plus-the-tweetbook/

  2. Ryan Fox

    re: our conversation at lunch

    ‘style’ output:
    readability grades:
    Kincaid: 5.7
    ARI: 5.5
    Coleman-Liau: 9.0
    Flesch Index: 79.6/100
    Fog Index: 8.2
    Lix: 32.1 = below school year 5
    SMOG-Grading: 8.2
    sentence info:
    656 characters
    156 words, average length 4.21 characters = 1.33 syllables
    11 sentences, average length 14.2 words
    45% (5) short sentences (at most 9 words)
    9% (1) long sentences (at least 24 words)
    4 paragraphs, average length 2.8 sentences
    0% (0) questions
    54% (6) passive sentences
    longest sent 29 wds at sent 2; shortest sent 4 wds at sent 8
    word usage:
    verb types:
    to be (6) auxiliary (3)
    types as % of total:
    conjunctions 4% (6) pronouns 12% (18) prepositions 13% (20)
    nominalizations 1% (2)
    sentence beginnings:
    pronoun (2) interrogative pronoun (0) article (1)
    subordinating conjunction (1) conjunction (2) preposition (1)

    ‘diction’ output:
    (stdin):1: I [may -> = Do not confuse with “can”.] have written some
    heartsick love poetry at the beginning of the winter last year, but
    I’ve never held any delusions about my poetry being particularly good.

    (stdin):5: I’ve written enough blog posts in the past 6 years to fill
    more volumes [than -> (examine sentences containing “than” to insure
    that they are not missing words: I love my father more than my mother. I
    love my father more than my mother loves my father. I love my father
    more than I love my mother)] anyone wants to read.

    (stdin):5: [Further -> “Farther” denotes distance, “further” denotes time
    or quantity.], I’ve read blogs that have a quality of writing that is
    superior to [a lot of -> Often obsolete, should sometimes be replaced by
    “many”] stuff that’s in print.

    (stdin):5: Arrogance says, I believe [there is -> (a dead phrase;
    rewrite the sentence and it will probably improve)] literary merit in
    the blogsphere.

    (stdin):7: Of course, nothing that [can -> (do not confuse with “may”)]
    be cashed in on, really.

    (stdin):7: But there’s [very -> (use sparingly; try to use words that
    are strong in themselves for emphasis)] little money in print nowadays
    anyway.

    (Hopefully the formatting doesn’t break!)

    • They seem to disagree on reading level! That’s cool to see though. Can’t say I’m surprised it averages around a grade 6 reading level. I strongly believe in accessible language.

      What exactly did you put the post into?

Leave a Reply

