A Pekoe Story: Part II

I realized I never updated from this post. Everyone who really cares knows the end result anyway, but I figure it’s time for me to talk more about my cat anyway.

I took my boy to the vet. Got a good lecture about the flea collar I had on him (the vet was concerned about the well being of the children I might one day want to have. You know, poison in me, passes to poison in them. Something like that.) And a lecture about putting Pekoe on a tether in the back yard. (He must have felt like a sitting duck out there! Absolutely miserable!) And a conclusion that the throwing up was likely caused by a hair ball (here, have tuna flavoured laxative!) and the peeing was probably behavioural and I should trust Pekoe enough to let him out and officially be an inside outside cat.

So, he is. Officially. My roommates are happy, because they no longer have to fight to keep him inside when they leave the house. There have been no repeat performances of the inappropriate peeing and the only times he’s thrown up, there’s been grass in his vomit. And Pekoe is pretty much perfectly happy. He goes out, sometimes at 10 o’clock at night, spends the whole night chasing shadows in the backyard and the neighbour’s backyard, has probably made a few friends, and comes back when I step out onto the porch to call him the next morning.

His paws look like this now:

Pekoe's paw

See all that dirt and the cracks? He’s no soft-paw anymore! But he’s way more cuddly and actually sleeps through the night when he choses to spend it indoors!

In other kitty news, the other cat I called mine left my parents’ house one day and never came back like she usually does. But, I’m ok with it. It’s a fitting way for this particular girl to go. But that’s a story for another day.

 

Lady Grey

Lady Grey, ~2004-2009

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Pekoe Story: Part II

  1. I have to say, I’m glad Pekoe is doing well! We had a new kitty for about three weeks when she met an unfortunate end. I was so enjoying evenings with her curled up and purring on the couch, but it was not to be.

    I think sometimes the leaving and not returning is a lot easier!

    Enjoy your much happier Kitty!

Leave a Reply

