The Driving Tourist: Ottawa!

A story:

The administration of my elementary school made some very very poor choices. There’s always a grade 7 trip. For years, it was to Quebec City. My sister, five years older than me, went there. For my brother, three years older, they downgraded somewhat to Ottawa. I was disappointed that they stopped doing Quebec City, but I was still excited about the idea of Ottawa. And finally, it was my turn.

They sent us here.

No, I’m not kidding. Someone along the line decided it would be a good idea to fore go teaching us about Canadian culture or history and instead stuck us in graffitied cabins with gross bathrooms and made us sing camp songs and do arts and crafts and climb ropes.

As a result, born and raised in Canada, and Ontario at that, at the age of 22, I had never seen the parliament buildings. Seriously, I got ripped off.

So, when M and I had one of his family Christmases near Ottawa, I requested a drive-by.

The teeny tiny Canadian flag on top looks kind of funny. But, there she is!

Angel

The angel watching over the soldiers on the cenataph.

We stopped once to look at Quebec.

Quebec

Quebec!

And then, we drove around the wasted space that is the aviation museum.

Aviation

Lots and lots of little planes.

Even though we kind of faked out as tourists, it was a lot of fun. JO, a friend of ours on a co-op term in Ottawa came along, and it was really good to see him and hang out again. M and I decided Ottawa is a nice city and, despite being really far away from everyone, probably preferable over the blob that is Toronto.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Driving Tourist: Ottawa!

  1. Rivikah

    It’s a lie! I think I have photographic evidence of you seeing the parliament buildings. We went to Ottawa for a family vacation once…

    But you were younger….

  2. mom

    Ten years later and you still sound bitter!

    Actually Rivikah is right. There was a family vacation to Ottawa. Seems to me you missed the Peace Tower–after standing in line for an hour or so to get up the tower, you had to pee, your dad took you. There are no bathrooms at the top of the tower, so you missed that part. I think you were three.

Leave a Reply

