Return to normal

I’m back in school for my final term. It’s going to be a bit of a weird term.

First of all, I usually pride myself in having difficult terms. I take classes that I think sound interesting and challenging, but might require a lot of work. I make academic situations out to be worse than they actually are. (Last term, which is shaping up to be one of my better terms, is a prime example.) I’ve learned to work well under pressure. But this term, I’m taking the pressure off. I’m easing up a bit and letting myself glide to the finish line.

I’m taking three courses instead of my usual five. All English because that is what I love and do best. Over my co-op terms, I took two distance ed courses, but never allowed any gaps to make up for them until now. When I realized I only needed three more courses to finish, I suddenly couldn’t bear the thought of taking anymore. It’s kind of funny, isn’t it? Someone who would refuse to drop a course after the swap date because she didn’t want to finish the term a credit short is suddenly only taking three courses!

Like I said, it’s going to be a weird term.

Instead of school work, I’m going to fill the semester up with other pursuits. More writing, (more blogging!), more drawing, maybe some painting, some squash playing, perhaps something fiddly like scrapbooking, and, of course, lots of thank you card making and resume sending. As long as I can accomplish these things, I don’t think I’ll feel like it’s all a cop-out.

And then, come May, the transition: wife, employee (hopefully…), partner in homemaking, and all the rest.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Return to normal

  1. Sounds like a good term!

Leave a Reply

