Salmon instead of chain restaurant gourmet

When M suggests a date night to use up his gift card to Milestones, I hesitate, so not ready for a meal in a nice restaurant. I’m not wearing any make-up, I’ve just barely changed out of my pajamas, my hair is flat and boring, I am feeling far from attractive. Besides all that, I need material.

Sad, isn’t it? My blog dictates when we go out for dinner and when we stay in so I can make something awesome. Not really actually. Remember what I was saying in my last post? We’re cheap. Date night next week.

(Besides, it’s kinda like every night is date night… last night, after supper, we enjoyed a glass of wine together and watched a hilarious Canadian movie snuggled up on the couch.)

And these were totally worth staying in. Maybe M made the final call because he was excited about what I was planning?

Cheesy Salmon Quesadillas
Adapted from Salmon and Provolone Mini-Quesadillas in All You need Is Cheese, Volume 2, Issue 1.

1 cup cheese (Any kind. I used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella, because it’s what I had. The recipe calls for provolone, but you know they’re just trying to get you to spend more money on fancy cheeses.)
1 can salmon, drained
3/4 cup salsa
2 or 3 green onions, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped

2 or 3 pitas cut in half with the pocket opened

Throw the first five ingredients together to make the filling. This filling would be pretty easy to personalize. Add any spices you wish, any chopped veggies, try tuna instead of salmon. Just try stuff out and see what you like.

Split the filling between the pitas as equally as possible. Be gentle stuffing the pitas–they tear easily–but don’t be too concerned if you make a mess of it: eating them is not exactly neat.

Place the pitas on a cookie sheet and bake at 375* for approximately 10 minutes, or until you can see all the cheese is deliciously melted and the pita is nice and crispy.

We ate them with sour cream. You could serve them with some more salsa. According to the original recipe, you can serve them at any temperature. But, I know they’re delicious when they’re piping hot.


2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Salmon instead of chain restaurant gourmet

  1. Mom

    Canned salmon is one thing you never had while growing up–at least, not at home!

    • On sandwiches, canned salmon would be truly disgusting. Actually, as a kid, I probably wouldn’t have liked it at all. Done right it’s not bad for tasty, though.

Leave a Reply

