Chicken Curry Stir Fry

The past couple weeks have been eventful. I got my first paycheque yesterday and, with a great sense of accomplishment and satisfaction, dropped it immediately into our chequing account.

One thing I miss about being unemployed/half employed is all the time in the world to plan and execute a delicious meal. For the past two months, while I was being interviewed, and then while I was settling into my new desk, into my two computers with three monitors, into a new chair, and a new environment, our cupboards remained unpleasantly bare. Every so often, we’d pick up a stack of frozen pizzas, a pile of Mr. Noodles, bagels, and red delicious apples, just enough to keep us going.

Now I’m comfortable enough at work to not feel bad about a little personal Internet use on my breaks. I’m back to reading my cooking blogs, my baking blogs, and drooling over delicious, beautiful pictures of food. I’m back to thinking about what we’re going to eat and having a meal plan ready before noon.

I have a lot of chicken to use up before it gets freezer burnt. Curry and chicken pretty much go hand-in-hand and, despite what my 10 year old self used to insist, stir fries are awesome. I kind of made this up myself. I had found a recipe on my work computer, but decided to leave it at home tonight and couldn’t find the recipe back when I tried to repeat the search. So, I made it up a bit.

The recipe is kind of sweet, kind of spicy, a lot of delicious. Also, easy, except for all the chopping. I suppose if you really want you could use frozen veggies, but I promise it would not be nearly as good.

Chicken Curry Stir Fry

2 small chicken breasts cut into bite-size pieces
2 carrots, peeled and sliced into thin, 2.5″ slices
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped or sliced
5 white mushrooms, chopped

Sauce:

1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup mustard
1/2 cup orange juice
1 tbsp curry powder

In a splash of olive oil, saute the chicken pieces. Add the carrots and saute for a few minutes. Add the other vegetables and saute.

Meanwhile, mix together the four sauce ingredients. Taste and adjust amounts as necessary.  (I didn’t actually measure any of these ingredients. I just kind of threw approximates into a bowl, and it turned out deliciously.)

Add the sauce to your sautéed chicken and vegetables. Mix together and heat until the sauce bubbles.

Serve over your favourite starch. We had it with rice, but it would probably be tasty with noodles or even potatoes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

