Hello Cold Season

Mocha has, finally, settled, in the best possible place she could have chosen: right across my lap. I am snuggled on the couch under my old quilt and my sweet puppy dog. Finally, I am almost warm.

I have been battling a cold for the past two days now. It hit Sunday night, a gradually growing ‘off’ feeling in the back of my throat. On Monday, I woke up feeling like someone had shoved a golf ball down my throat and drilled a tiny little breathing hole through it. I’m not really sure how I made it to today, but I’m starting to feel a little better, perhaps thanks to the Halls I’ve been sucking on all day and the tea I’ve been drinking constantly. I’m just so tired, can’t even concentrate on my book on my bus ride home.

I had no choice but to go shopping tonight. So, I reluctantly found a recipe, wrote a list and walked past our building to the grocery store, feeling a little grumbly about it all. But when I got home, walked the dog, and put the groceries away, it was surprisingly easy to slip into the rhythms of cooking. Slicing, pouring, stirring, measuring, mixing, tasting. This recipe was simple enough that it was all relaxing, comforting even.

Originally, I had wanted to turn this into a proper chicken pot pie/chicken casserole kind of thing, but when the soup turned out too soupy, I went with the flow and we just had the biscuits on the side instead of on top. And it was all quite delicious.

Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup and Biscuits
Adapted from Rachel Ray*

3 boneless chicken thighs
3 tbs butter or margarine
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
2 tsp Montreal Chicken seasoning
3 tbs flour
2 cups half and half
4 cups chicken broth (or 4 cups water, 4 tsp powdered boullion)
3 handfuls egg noodles
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 package frozen veggies like peas and carrots

Biscuits:

Bisquick
Milk

Cut the chicken into reasonably sized pieces. Cook with the butter in a large sauce pan. Add the garlic. After a minute or so, add the onion. Add the seasoning and the flour. Slowly add the cream, pausing ever so often to mix everything well together. Add the chicken stock. Bring everything to a boil. Add the nutmeg. When boiling, add the noodles. Once the noodles have mostly cooked, add the frozen veggies. Allow to boil again.

During the downtimes, make your biscuits according to the package instructions.

I know, I know. You would think that I, writing about food in the blogosphere, would be encouraging you to use raw ingredients and get away from making things like biscuits from mixes. ¬†Honestly? It’s easy. They’re tasty when they come out of the oven all hot and fresh. Why bother?

You could put the biscuits on top of the soup and make a pseudo pot pie, but we just ate them beside and the whole thing was absolutely delicious.

(* I know. Foodies don’t like her. I’m so not a foodie. Her recipes are simple and tested. Good enough for me.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

