Chocolate Chip Shortbread

My cookbook collection grew substantially this Christmas. Apparently, my mother-in-law found out I really like to cook. Oddly, the majority of my new books are actually baking books. And you all know how I feel about baking. But, since it was Christmas and then New Years, I bit the bullet and cracked into a couple of the books.

This one comes from a book called Chocolate. Yes, it’s just all about chocolate. Delightful. I made this shortbread for a small gathering of friends in my small apartment. I think most of it ended up in my belly, but I was impressed with my self-control around this incredibly light, crumbly shortbread crusted with chocolate chips. It was the perfect combination, the perfect little dessert. And for once, it has me imagining potential variations.

Some things about this shortbread. It’s hard to work together. My butter was probably not quite soft enough, but I knew if I stuck it in the microwave it would melt too much and the texture would be all wrong. My solution? Hand it off to the Man so he can show off his Muscles. One of these days, I’m going to take my HBC gift cards to Home Outfitters and get that KitchenAid I’be been drooling over.

Another thing about shortbread: once it is cooled, it gets crumbly. That means it’s not so easy to cut. If you want nice pieces of shortbread, don’t forget to cut it before it cools completely.

Now, if you want a bit of chocolaty, buttery goodness, go make this. If you’re worried about keeping New Years resolutions, I suggest you break them and go make this.

Chocolate Chip Shortbread
From Chocolate by Parragon

115 g butter, diced (1/2 cup)
115 g all-purpose flour (3/4 cup)
55 g cornstarch (3/8 cup)
55 g brown sugar (1/4 cup)
As many chocolate chips as you want

(Yes, these measurements are in grams. I was a little thrown when I first got the book. But then, I got a kitchen scale and everything worked out. The cup measurement are approximates. Corrections are appreciated.)

Mix together the flour, cornstarch, and sugar. Add the diced butter and rub in until the mixture begins to hold together. A mixer is useful for this, whether a machine or a stronger human being than you.

Press the mixture evenly into a springform pan. Sprinkle as many chocolate chips on top as you would like and press in gently with your fingers. If you think you need more chocolate chips, add more.

Bake at 325* for 35-40 minutes, until a beautiful gold colour. Removing the side of the springform pan, carefully cut into 8 portions, or however many you would like. Allow to cool for 10 minutes or so before moving to a wire rack to cool the rest of the way. If serving to guests, cut or break a piece in half to share with your Muscle as a taste test, then pack them away to share later.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Chocolate Chip Shortbread

  1. Looks really good and sounds quite simple to make. I need to give it a try soon.

    • It is quite simple! I whipped up a batch for a company potluck in just 20 minutes or so this past week. A tip: if you don’t have a chance to soften the butter, you can pop it into the microwave for about 10 seconds. It will soften it just enough to make it workable. I was able to mix my second batch myself.

Leave a Reply

