Honey Barbecue Pork

We’ve been thinking a lot about bathrooms and kitchens, timelines, and demos. We’ve been dreaming, and wishing, planning and hoping. We’ve been thinking so much about the coming months that I’ve had very little time to find any food inspiration. A visit to a similarly food-minded friend, the woman behind the blog, An Extra Glimpse, sent me back to my cookbook collection for tonight’s dinner.

She made us a delicious meal of chicken casserole, sweet potato and a delightful, creamy bruschetta. While she cooked, I stood in her bright, cheerful, yellow kitchen and chatted, catching up, jumping from one topic to the next. Another’s kitchen can be so inspiring.

So, today, I felt like cooking, despite feeling a little rough from the late night. I pulled out a church cookbook I got from someone in M’s family. Both J and my mom are insistent that there is some value in these simple books. But I never know how to find the jewels among the rest, especially without a single picture. My love of food comes from a very visual origin: I appreciate the photography that so often goes along with delicious food.

The cookbook I pulled out is not a large one, so it wasn’t difficult picking out a recipe based on what was in my fridge and pantry. And you know what? It was delicious. And that’s not just me saying that: I even got a Good from M! And you all know how difficult that can be…

Honey Barbecue Pork
from the Treasured Recipes of the Lunch Bunch

4 pork chops or spare ribs or whatever type of pork you have
3 cloves garlic
1 onion
1/4 cup barbecue sauce
3/4 cup honey*
4 tbsp vinegar
6 tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 dry mustard
1/4 tsp chopped ginger
1 tbsp chili powder
1/2 tsp pepper

Boil the pork chops for about 20 minutes. Remove from the water and place in a baking dish that is just the right size for the amount of meat you have.

Chop your garlic and onion and mix in a bowl with the barbecue sauce, honey, vinegar, soy sauce, salt, mustard, ginger, chili powder, and pepper. Pour the mixture over the meet in the baking  dish and pop into a 325* oven for 1.5 hours or until as tender as you want. I only baked it for an hour and they were delicious, but if I had been more patient, I’m sure they would have become even more melt-in-your-mouth tender.

Serve with veggies or a salad.

* I ran out of honey. I didn’t have 3/4 cup. So, I opened my fridge and pondered the contents. Plum sauce? Hmm… table syrup! I just kind of threw some in. It was tasty. Really, you can’t mess up this recipe, what with all the delicious ingredients that go into it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

