Creamy Bruschetta and Dinner Parties

I find the best place to go for good recipes is a dinner party with a generous host. You could play a guessing game with cookbooks and blogs and pretty, sometimes deceptive pictures, or, you can taste it for yourself before you even considering rushing out to buy all the necessary ingredients. I mean, really, what’s not to love about the concept of a dinner party? You get to taste food made by someone else, potentially get a new favourite recipe, make a fool of yourself playing Kinect and, get a little tipsy on wine before heading out to a country bar to go dancing with your best girlfriend and her husband. (What, did you think I’d go to a dinner party with stiff social climbers and stilted conversation over a far-too-gilded, mile-long dinner table?)

And if you’re hosting? The perfect chance to wow a friend or two with your new favourite recipe that you picked up from someone else!

Now, onto the food. J of An Extra Glimpse and the beautiful bride from November 20th served this variation of the classic bruschetta as an appetizer. I took one bite and was in food heaven. So, naturally, I pestered her for it and she, graciously, emailed me the recipe two days later. It was high on my list of things to make after we went grocery shopping last week but, by the time I actually got to it, the baguette I had picked up was a little crunchier than perfection would have been. No matter. The two day old baguette still worked out just fine.

Creamy Tomato Bruschetta
From J of An Extra Glimpse, used with her permission. No idea where she got it from.

1/2 cup mayo
1 cup grated mozzarella cheese
2 medium tomatoes, finely diced
2 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
1 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1 fresh baguette cut into 1 inch slices

Mix all the ingredients except, of course, the baguette, in a medium sized bowl. Arrange baguette slices on a cookie sheet. Divide tomato mixture among slices.

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or may put pan on grill at medium, low heat for 10 to 15 minutes. Serve warm.

Delightfully creamy with a bit of a kick to them from the pepper. Completely and utterly delicious. So delicious that we actually at them for our supper. That’s right, you heard me. We had an appetizer supper and it was delicious. This is, I expect an incredibly versatile recipe. I’m already thinking of variations: an onion to replace one of the tomatoes, any different kind of cheese, some shredded chicken, a different medley of spiced. Take mayo, tomato, and cheese, mix whatever you want with them, pop it on to of a slice of baguette, and bake! I have a feeling this one is going to be in my back pocket for a very long time.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Creamy Bruschetta and Dinner Parties

  1. Fran

    love the recipe…haven’t tried it yet but it sure looks good. thanks for sharing it..are you getting ready for your move?

    • You’re welcome! Let me know what you think of it when you try it.

      Well, we keep making plans, but no packing yet. The closing date is March 31st and then we’ll be doing some renovations before we move in, so we’ll probably wait until April to get really serious about packing. I’m a little nervous to see how much stuff we’ve accumulated in a year…

  2. farminarian

    Hey Nettie,

    Remember years ago when I made you kids grilled cheese sandwiches with mayonnaise. I got to eat all of them!!! Now you present us with a recipe that is ulitimately a version of grilled cheese with mayo and you say “one bite and was in food heaven”!!!

    Waiting for a long overdue apology…..

    • Nope, don’t remember that, though it definitely sounds like something you would do. I was probably so traumatized by the experience that I forgot I hate the cheese/mayo combo! You did me a favour! 😉 Anyway, you’ll probably really like these. They taste like mayo!

  3. You won’t believe this…but I got the bruschetta recipe from a church cookbook! 😉

Leave a Reply

