Well, maybe just one drink…

It’s St. Patrick’s Day. I celebrated once in first year, two weeks after I had turned 19. It was my first real experience in a packed, hot, sweaty bar with lots of irresponsible drunken people. The campus pub was chaotic, crazy, dark, crowded. I cherish some of those memories, but St. Patty’s day has never been for me. I don’t drink beer much and green beer seems especially unappealing.

However, this is a faintly green drink that is completely delicious. Actually, it’s more yellow than green, but that’s just a technicality. I started drinking this is in university too as I was trying new drinks and expanding my alcohol repertoire.

Tom Collins

Over ice, pour

1 oz lemon juice
1 oz gin
1 tbsp sugar

Stir it all well together. Top up with club soda and mix gently.

Try not to drink too many.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Well, maybe just one drink…

  1. Mom

    You could add a drop of food colouring to make it greener. : )

  2. Jen

    Even looking at this picture makes me squint my eyes and purse my lips in sour expression! 😉

    • I have determined that I just made you a really bad one. Too much lemon juice, not enough sugar and club soda. I’ll probably have to expose you to it again. And again. Until you admit that it doesn’t taste like neocitron at all! Muhahahem… 😉

  3. Boggs

    Seems like it would be a very smooth transition from Tom Collins to Gin-Tonic to gin on the rocks to [lukewarm] gin from a flask. That is why I don’t drink rum anymore :p

Leave a Reply

